San Antonio

Democratic, Republican voters have chosen their nominees

SAN ANTONIO – The ballots for the November midterm are set after Tuesday’s runoff election in Texas.

Democratic voters in Bexar County selected their nominee for county decide, whereas voters of each events additionally voted for candidates in statewide and congressional races.

In Bexar County, 112,362 votes had been cast, in complete, or 9.3% of the county’s 1.2 million registered voters, together with in-person early votes, mail-in votes and election day votes.

Find a rundown of the election outcomes under.

Get extra election outcomes on our homepage and Vote 2022 web page. Be the primary to know by downloading our newsreader app or signing up for breaking information e-mail alerts.


Here are the outcomes from key runoff races from the Bexar County space and round South/Central Texas.

Congressional District 28

Candidates for U.S. Representative District 28. Top Left: Incumbent Henry Cuellar Top Right: Jessica Cisneros Bottom Left: Cassy Garcia Bottom Right: Sandra Whitten (Copyright 2022 by KSAT – All rights reserved.)

A contentious rematch between Congressman Henry Cuellar and immigration lawyer Jessica Cisneros went right down to the wire. While Cuellar claimed victory by 177 votes, the race was too near name early Wednesday.

The race intensified after a leaked Supreme Court draft indicated that Roe v. Wade — the landmark case that legalized abortion — can be overturned. Cuellar was the one House Democrat to vote towards federal laws to codify abortion, which Cisneros has emphasised main as much as the runoff.

The March major was additionally an in depth battle, as Cuellar edged out Cisneros by 767 votes.

On the Republican facet, Cassy Garcia defeated Sandra Whitten for the nomination.


Garcia gained with 57% of the vote, whereas Sandra Whitten trailed with 43%.

Garcia is a political staffer, having served most lately as U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz’s Deputy State Director. She was appointed by then-President Donald Trump in July of 2020 to function Commissioner for the White House Hispanic Prosperity Initiative. Whitten, a youth and preschool director, was the Republican nominee for the district in 2020, however lost to Cuellar within the basic election.

The winners of each races will face one another within the basic election.

Congressional District 15

The Democratic race for Congressional District 15 additionally remained too near name early Wednesday morning.

With 68% of the vote counted, Ruben Ramirez captured 51% of the vote in comparison with 49% for Michelle Vallejo.

This district was redrawn to grow to be extra aggressive, giving Republican candidate Monica De La Cruz a shot to flip the seat in November.

Bexar County Judge

Former District Court Judge Peter Sakai would be the Democratic candidate for Bexar County Judge after the votes had been counted on Tuesday.


Sakai bested former state Rep. Ina Minjarez on Tuesday, profitable 58% of the vote. In the March major, Sakai secured 41% of the vote in comparison with Minjarez’s 31%.

The third-place candidate, former mayoral chief of workers Ivalis Meza Gonzalez, endorsed Sakai forward of the runoff.

Sakai will face Republican Trish DeBerry in November, who gained her major in March.

The basic election will decide who will succeed Nelson Wolff, who has been Bexar County Judge since 2001.

The position is the highest elected office within the county.

Attorney General

Despite a number of scandals mounting up towards Attorney General Ken Paxton, he’ll advance to the overall election in November because the Republican nominee.

Paxton has been affected by scandals in his tenure as lawyer basic. He stays indicted in a securities fraud case, is below investigation by the FBI over accusations that he used his office to assist a rich donor and has been sued by the state bar over his problem of the 2020 election.


Still, Paxton cruised to victory over former Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush by a margin of 68% to 32%.

The Democratic nomination was additionally selected Tuesday. Rochelle Mercedes Garza defeated former Galveston Mayor Joe Jaworski. Garza gained 61% of the vote, whereas Jaworski gained 38% of the vote.

Garza will face Paxton in November.

Lieutenant Governor

Dan Patrick gained the Republican nomination in March, however the Democratic nomination was selected Tuesday.

Mike Collier secured the nomination with 54% of the vote, whereas former state Rep. Michelle Beckley trailed with 45%.

Congressional District 35

Among the ten candidates who sought the Republican nomination within the district, it got here down to 2 for the runoff — former Corpus Christi Mayor Dan McQueen and Michael Rodriguez.

McQueen gained the nomination with 61% of the vote, whereas Rodriguez trailed with 39%.

The district, which spans from Austin to San Antonio, is reliably Democratic, making former Austin City Councilman Greg Casar — who superior from the Democratic major — the favored candidate in November.


Texas Senate District 24

Republican State Sen. Pete Flores, who confronted off towards former congressional candidate Raul Reyes in Texas Senate District 24, emerged victorious on Tuesday. Flores acquired 59% of the vote.

Texas House District 122

Former San Antonio City Councilwoman Elisa Chan lost to former Republican Party precinct chairman Mark Dorazio.

Although Chan captured probably the most votes within the March major, she lost to Dorazio on Tuesday. Dorazio gained with 55% of the vote.

This seat was held by Republican Rep. Lyle Larson, who determined to not search reelection after a polarizing session within the Texas Legislature.

The Republican runoff winner will face the uncontested Democratic candidate Angi Aramburu in November.

Land Commissioner

Land Commissioner candidates for each events confronted runoff races on Tuesday.

On the Republican facet, Dawn Buckingham cruised to victory towards Tim Westley, profitable 69% of the vote.

Democrat Sandragrace Martinez, who gained 32% of the vote, will face off towards Jay Kleberg, who gained 26% of the vote.


Railroad Commissioner

Republican Railroad Commissioner Wayne Christian secured the nomination after a bitter major race and runoff towards Sarah Stogner.

Christian gained the race with 66% of the vote.

Luke Warford took the Democratic nomination in March.

Everything to find out about voting within the 2022 Texas major runoff election on May 24

🗳 FULL BALLOTS: 2022 Democratic, Republican major runoff ballots for Bexar County

Copyright 2022 by KSAT – All rights reserved.

Back to top button