A look at Arizona’s governors since statehood in 1912

Republican Doug Ducey was sworn in on Jan. 5, 2015, shortly after midday, changing into the state’s twenty third governor.  

Arizona has had 4 ladies governors since statehood, probably the most of any state: Rose Mofford, Jane Hull, Janet Napolitano and Jan Brewer.

Here’s a look at all of Arizona’s governors, beginning with Gov. George W.P. Hunt.

George W.P. Hunt

1911-1919, 1923-1929, 1931-1933 | Democrat

Arizona's first governor, George W. P. Hunt.

In 1904, George Wylie Paul Hunt grew to become the primary mayor of Globe, and all through his political career, he held positions on the Arizona Territorial Legislature and the Arizona Territorial Council. He was the president of the Arizona Constitutional Convention, the place he helped write Arizona’s Constitution, which led to the territory lastly buying state standing. He was formally inaugurated as Arizona’s first governor on Feb. 14, 1912, in the presence of retired territorial officers and the newly elected officers of the brand new state in a easy ceremony. He served a complete of seven phrases, serving each earlier than and after the phrases of Thomas E. Campbell and John C. Phillips. Hunt died on Dec. 24, 1934, and is buried in a white, pyramid-shaped tomb at Papago Park in Phoenix. 

Back to top button