2022 midterm elections: Election deniers who won and lost

A majority of the Republican candidates for statewide or federal office who raised doubts in regards to the validity of the 2020 presidential elections are projected to win their races — although lots of the highest-profile election deniers are estimated to have lost their bids.

The defeated embrace lots of former President Donald Trump’s most distinguished endorsements for prime workplaces in states throughout the nation — together with Senate candidates Blake Masters, Mehmet Oz, Adam Laxalt and gubernatorial candidates Doug Mastriano, Kari Lake and Tudor Dixon. Though a few different candidates, J.D. Vance and Ted Budd, won their Senate races, it was not sufficient for Republicans to take management of the Senate.

Quite a lot of distinguished GOP incumbents who cast doubt on the validity of the 2020 election had been reelected as effectively. Sens. Ron Johnson, Rand Paul, John Kennedy and Mike Lee all won reelection within the Senate, and In the House of Representatives, Reps. Matt Gaetz, Marjorie Taylor-Green, Kevin McCarthy, and Paul Gosar had been re-elected as effectively.

In races for secretary of state, voters additionally rejected Trump-endorsed Mark Finchem in Arizona, Jim Marchant of Nevada, and Kristina Karamo of Michigan to supervise state elections. And one high-profile race is undecided: Herschel Walker faces a runoff election in opposition to incumbent Sen. Raphael Warnock on Dec. 6.

But total, no less than 60% of the Republican candidates who raised unfounded doubts in regards to the validity or integrity of the 2020 election outcomes — 185 of 308 — are projected to win their midterm races to this point. Candidates deemed by CBS News to be election deniers have a number of of those traits:

  • Said they consider the 2020 election was stolen;
  • Repeated disproven claims of widespread voter fraud in 2020;
  • Supported a sort of put up 2020-audit, typically following recounts or canvassing;
  • Signed onto the Texas lawsuit trying to overturn the 2020 election leads to a number of battleground states;
  • Objected to certify the 2020 electoral faculty leads to Arizona and Pennsylvania on Jan. 6, 2021; or
  • Have no less than as soon as, if no more, been unclear when requested in the event that they consider President Joe Biden was legitimately elected.

CBS News has over 10 races remaining to be projected, together with two Senate races, 7 House races, one gubernatorial race, one state lawyer basic race, one lieutenant governor race and one secretary of state race. 

In the subsequent Congress, there are projected to be 156 GOP House members who have raised doubts in regards to the validity of the 2020 election, a rise from the 147 GOP House members who, in January 2021, voted to object to the certification of the Electoral College. In the brand new Senate, 5 new senators who fall into the class of  “election deniers” will take office, with 4 incumbents becoming a member of them. 

Over half of all Republican midterm candidates working for federal and statewide office raised unfounded doubts in regards to the integrity of the 2020 election outcomes, and in response to CBS News’ evaluation, solely Rhode Island and North Dakota didn’t have a candidate on the the poll who denied the outcomes of the 2020 election had been legitimate.

Contributions by Sierra Sanders, Grace Kazarian, Fritz Farrow, Scott MacFarlane and Major Garrett

Back to top button