San Antonio

18 apply to replace Clayton Perry on San Antonio City Council

San Antonio – A former councilman, unsuccessful candidates, and a bicycling advocate are among the many 18 individuals who’ve thrown their hats within the ring to quickly replace District 10 Councilman Clayton Perry on the San Antonio City Council.

Perry took a short lived depart of absence, which he known as a “sabbatical,” within the wake of his self-confessed involvement in a Nov. 6 hit-and-run crash, which police say could have additionally included a DWI.

The North Side councilman has not resigned his seat and will return at any level through the roughly six months left in his time period, however the council plans to appoint a short lived alternative within the meantime.

After the 5 p.m. deadline to apply handed on Monday, the town had 18 “qualified” candidates from which the council can select.

Mike Gallagher, who represented District 10 from 2014 to 2017 and is now the president of the Northeast Neighborhood Alliance, is without doubt one of the most acquainted names on the listing. At least two others, Ezra Johnson and Elise Kibler, have additionally beforehand run for the seat.

The council can select up to three of the candidates for its Nov. 30 meeting to interview throughout its Dec. 1 meeting. The council members are anticipated to vote on the appointment on the Dec. 1 meeting.

“Wednesday, we’ll be reviewing those applicants and deciding on up to 3 finalists to be interviewed in public on Thursday. Thursday, we will deliberate and make a decision on the d10 temporary replacement,” mentioned Mayor Ron Nirenberg.

Although city ordinance states the ensuing appointee can be instantly sworn-in, that may solely occur with a vote of at the very least eight of the ten different council members, in accordance to the web agenda paperwork. If there are six or seven votes in favor, the appointee can be sworn in on Dec. 12.

“If this is a candidate who comes to us without the recommendations of HOA presidents and boards and the alliances, then as far as I’m concerned, they’re not a person I’ll be voting for. So for me, I’ll be looking for neighborhood support because, after all, this is their district, not mine,” mentioned District 8 Councilman Manny Pelaez.

The alternative will serve both till the tip of Perry’s time period in early June or till the councilman returns from his depart of absence, whichever is sooner.

Voters will select the subsequent District 10 council member through the metropolis’s May 6, 2023 election.

  1. Charles Daniels

  2. Gracie Farias

  3. Michael R. Gallagher

  4. Jose F. Garcia

  5. Lisa Garcia

  6. Donald J. Hartshorn

  7. Ezra Johnson

  8. Elise L. Kibler

  9. Laurence Kurth

  10. Christopher Longoria

  11. Bryan Martin

  12. William Peche

  13. Pauline A. Rubio

  14. Christopher W. Sanchez

  15. Andrew Shelnutt

  16. Joel G. Solis

  17. Timothy P. Taylor

  18. Laura Thompson

Copyright 2022 by KSAT – All rights reserved.

Back to top button